Iowa OCA Advisory Committee Members

Home / Iowa OCA Advisory Committee Members

 

  1. Orion Abrams, parashara@gmail.com, cell phone: 641-225-5733. Lives in Fairfield located in Jefferson County located in Southeast Iowa Link (SEIL) MHDS Region.  He works for Optimae Life Solutions in Fairfield as a Certified Mental Health Peer Support Specialist working with peers in supervised living or independently. 
  1. Joni Elder, jelder@optimaelifeservices.com, cell phone:  641-799-9989. Lives in Fairfield located in Jefferson County located in Southeast Iowa Link (SEIL) MHDS Region.  She is the Recovery Center Coordinator for Optimae Life Solutions in Fairfield. She is the Parent/Guardian of a child with serious emotional disturbance.
  1. Emily Exley-Berry, emilyexley@gmail.com, cell phone: 641-831-3423. Lives in Colfax located in Jasper County located in Central Iowa Community Services MHDS Region, parent of a child with a serious emotional disturbance. Middle School Associate at Prairie City Monroe School District.
  1. Trenton Fekkers, Trenton-fekkers@uiowa.edu, cell phone: 319-440-8537. Lives in Iowa City located in Johnson County in MHDS of East Central Region, Peer Support Specialist, student in social work at the University of Iowa. 
  1. Dawn Hansen, Work Phone: 515-250-6375, dawn.hansen2@iowa.gov, Lives in Nevada located in Story County in CISS MHDS Region, represents Dept. of Corrections, 5th Judicial District.
  1. Josh Hubbell, cell phone: 515-230-2937, Lives in Ames located in Central Iowa Community Services MHDS Region, Certified Mental Health Peer Support Specialist.
  1. Corrine Kinney-Mehaffey, blacklabashley@hotmail.com, Cell phone 712-269.1044. Lives in Deloit, Iowa located in Rolling Hills Community Services Region, Certified Peer Recovery Specialist, club house worker for The Den in Denison Iowa for the Plains Area Mental Health Center.
  1. Kevin Lone, kplone32@gmail.com, work phone: 515-241-0982. Lives in Des Moines, located in Polk County MHDS, Certified Mental Health Peer Support Specialist (CMHPSS), Staff of Integrated Health Home (IHH) of Eyerly Ball.
  2. Barbara Sanders, BSanders@hope4healingquakerdale.net, 319-427-1257. Lives in Cedar Falls located in MHDS County Social Services, works in Hardin County in MHDS Central Iowa Community Services, Staff of Quakerdale.
  1. Matthea Little Smith, matthea.little.smith@gmail.com, home phone: 515-783-2763. Lives in Des Moines located in Polk County MHDS, Peer Support Specialist, Peer and Family member of an adult with lived experience of mental health recovery, Member of NAMI Greater Des Moines Board of Directors.
  1. Meghan Suing, msuing@siouxlandmentalhealth.com, Cell phone: 712-223-5075. Lives in Sioux City in Woodbury County located in the Sioux Rivers MHDS, works for Siouxland Mental Health as a Family Support Specialist. Parent or Guardian of a child with Serious Emotional Disturbance. 

Ex-officio Members

  1. Heather Strachan, heather@namiiowa.org,  OCA line 1-855-OCA-IOWA (622-4692), Iowa OCA Director, Lives in Des Moines. Certified Recovery Specialist. Family member of an adults with lived experience of mental health recovery and addiction.
  1. Joshua Gitch, josh@namiiowa.org, cell: 319-239-1781, Peer Support Manager, Iowa OCA, Certified Mental Health Peer Support Specialist at Black Hawk Grundy Mental Health Center Peer Recovery Center.